IASP Court of Arbitration

International Association of Space Activities Participants was created in the end of 2005 year for coordination of Association members’ business activity, protection of their rights and representation of their interests in state and other authorities, including international ones. At that, naturally, certain terms of interaction are settled, mechanisms and rules are defined, and their different handling may lead to difficulties and disputes; it is often better to settle the disputes in the Court of Arbitration.

But the functions of the Court of Arbitration are not limited by that only. The most important function of IASP Court of Arbitration will be the settlement of disputes connected with the execution of the Federal Space Program of Russian Federation, State Defense Order and international agreements.

Why does the Association consider expedient exactly this method of dispute settlement between enterprises and organizations of Space and Rocket industry?

In preset-day conditions the procedure of the Court of Arbitration is necessary and effective form of right and interest protection of enterprises. In many countries of the world with rich traditions of legal regulation of business activity, the businessmen, not by accident, prefer to settle their disputes in trade (commercial) courts, not affiliated in state court system, and by their nature, exactly, representing the Court of Arbitration.

Courts of Arbitration are widely used nowadays in Russian law enforcement for settling different economical disputes. Protection of violated or contested civil right is carried out, in compliance with jurisdiction defined by procedural legislation, by the Court, Tribunal of Arbitration or Court of Arbitration (clause 2 of the 11th article of the Civil Code of Russian Federation).

Arbitration trial is based on the principles of protection interests of particular participants of property transaction, competitiveness of parties, quickness and economy of examination. Under the authority of the Court of Arbitration is settling the disputes arising, mainly, in connection with non-execution or improper execution of treaty obligations between commercial organizations as well as between other juridical persons, registered in Russian Federation and other countries. Court of Arbitration handles economical disputes only, reckoning among reference of commercial courts. It is not a secret that State Courts are abandoned to constant increasing of workload recently. For example, the number of handled in State Arbitration Court disputes is increasing on 20–30 per cent annually.

This situation causes hurdles, influences the quality of accepted juridical acts, and sometimes casts doubts on reality of access of public justice.

For example, in case of handling the disputes in Tribunal of Arbitration the period of time from the moment of acceptance of a suit and to the moment of possibility of execution maintenance will take about nine months (when the case will be handled by all the three court instances — the first, the appeal and cassational). The same procedure in the Court of Arbitration will not take more than two or three months. The dispute is settled by the elected parties or appointed composition of a court in a single instance.

The Court of Arbitration has not dependency relation with any State bodies; however, it is admitted and supplied by the state as law enforcement body, executing justice. The procedure of Arbitration handling allows competitors to chose judge the qualification and experience of whom they respect, guarantees them protection of rights, including commercial secret, provides wide possibilities for achieving different forms of compromises: amicable agreement, refusal of penalty recovery from the respondent (on the nod of parties) and etc. The most important source of the made by the Arbitration Court decisions is the contracts (of the parties) and trade (commercial) common practice.

A compulsory condition for initiation of proceedings in a case in the Court of Arbitration is agreement of the parties themselves. There’s no need in precedent order of adjustment of disputes for accession in the Court of Arbitration (pre-arbitration procedure of disputes examination).

In the process of arbitration the parties to dispute are absolutely equal. At that each party is to prove the circumstances it refers to. The Court of Arbitration has the right, but not obliged to require compulsory proofs and, basing on adversarial principle could make a resolution on materials given by the parties.

The procedure of the Court of Arbitration is exercised orally but with record-keeping made to order of the parties, and is based on the represented by the parties written evidentiary materials (though it doesn’t exclude the listening of experts and witnesses).The third persons are admitted to the process only by consent of the parties, that is why the handling is considered closed and guarantee to the parties observance of commercial secret. Relations of confidentiality between parties and judges create conditions for the full and comprehensive settlement of the dispute. More over, publicity in State Courts does not always contribute to keeping commercial secret or other information, divulgation of which may course damage to juridical persons and businessmen.

So, what are the peculiarities of the IASP Court of Arbitration? In compliance with the advanced regulation of the IASP Court of Arbitration the handling of a certain dispute should not take more than two months with the moment of formation of the composition of a court (or appointment of a single judge). At that the members of association are exempted from fees on accessing to the court, for other parties of the Court of Arbitration the fee is lower than the state duty in commercial court.

Resolution of the Court of Arbitration under its authorities excludes the possibility of accessing to the State Commercial Court with the plea to the same matter and circumstances. It is of obligatory character and is for voluntary execution either in the period settled in the resolution or in short notice. On default of the resolution of the Court of Arbitration by a defendant voluntary, the complainant receives an executive document, sentenced to the enforceable execution by the segregates and the writ of execution of the proceedings relating to the enforcement of judgments is given by the commercial court on the territory of which the court of Arbitration is based regardless determined jurisdiction over a dispute. Thus, the resolutions of the Court of Arbitration in its legal effect do not hold out the common court resolution.

In settling the dispute the Russian legislation is applied (if the parties have not agreed the application of the other country legislation or international agreement or conflict rule do not transmit to it), but among others taking into account in settling the dispute is the contest of the applicable agreement.

All that serves to provide the realization of the principles of fastness and efficiency in settling the disputes in the Court of Arbitration.

The General Meeting of the International Organization of Space Activities Participants in March, 24 2006 considered the question about the necessity and expediency of formation of the constant Court of Arbitration in the Association with the purpose of protection rights and interests of the association members in settling economical disputes, arising in executing of space activity, and in compliance with the Federal Low from 07.24.2002. #102-FL “About the Courts of Arbitration in Russian Federation”.

Третейский суд при МАКД

Международная ассоциация участников космической деятельности создана в конце 2005 года для координации предпринимательской деятельности членов ассоциации, защиты их прав и интересов в государственных и иных органах и организациях, в том числе международных. При этом, естественно, устанавливаются определенные условия взаимодействия, определяются механизмы и правила, различная трактовка которых может вызвать разногласия и споры, разрешить которые часто оказывается правильнее и удобнее в третейском суде.

Этим, однако, функции третейского суда не ограничиваются. Важнейшей задачей третейского суда при МАКД будет рассмотрение споров, связанных с исполнением Федеральной космической программы России, государственного оборонного заказа и международных договоров.

Почему же ассоциация считает целесообразной именно эту форму урегулирования разногласий между предприятиями и организациями ракетно-космической промышленности?

В современных условиях третейское судопроизводство является необходимой и эффективной формой защиты прав и интересов предприятий. Не случайно во многих странах мира с богатыми традициями правового регулирования коммерческой деятельности предприниматели предпочитают разрешать свои споры именно в торговых (коммерческих) судах, не входящих в государственную судебную систему и, по сути, как раз и являющихся третейскими судами.

Сегодня в российской правоприменительной практике третейские суды широко используются для разрешения различных экономических споров. Защиту нарушенных или оспоренных гражданских прав осуществляет в соответствии с подведомственностью дел, установленной процессуальным законодательством, суд, арбитражный суд или третейский суд (пункт 2 статьи 11 Гражданского кодекса Российской Федерации).

Третейское разбирательство основано на принципах защиты интересов конкретных участников имущественного оборота, состязательности сторон, быстроты и экономичности разбирательства. В компетенцию третейского суда входит разбирательство споров, возникающих главным образом в связи с неисполнением или ненадлежащим исполнением договорных обязательств, между коммерческими организациями, а также между другими юридическими лицами, зарегистрированными в Российской Федерации или в других странах. Третейский суд рассматривает лишь экономические споры, которые отнесены законом к компетенции арбитражных судов. Ни для кого не секрет, что государственные суды в последнее время испытывают постоянное увеличение нагрузки. Например, в арбитражных судах количество рассматриваемых дел ежегодно увеличивается на 20—30%.

Такое положение дел порождает волокиту, существенно влияет на качество принимаемых судебных актов, а иногда ставит под сомнение реальность доступа к правосудию. Например, если рассматривать спор в арбитражном суде, то период времени от момента принятия иска к производству и до момента возможности возбуждения исполнительного производства может составить около девяти месяцев (когда дело будут рассматривать все три судебные инстанции — первая, апелляционная и кассационная). А применительно к процедуре третейского разбирательства такой период времени не превысит двух-трех месяцев. Спор по существу разрешается избранным сторонами или назначенным составом третейского суда в одной инстанции.

Третейский суд не находится в отношениях подчиненности с какими-либо государственными органами, однако он признается и поддерживается государством в качестве правоприменительного органа, осуществляющего правосудие. Процедура третейского разбирательства позволяет самим участникам спора избрать себе судей, квалификации и опыту которых они действительно доверяют, гарантирует им защиту интересов, включая коммерческую тайну, предоставляет более широкие возможности для достижения различных форм компромиссов: мирового соглашения, отказа от взыскания с ответчика штрафных санкций (по договоренности сторон) и т.п. Важнейшими источниками принимаемых третейским судом решений являются договоры (контракты) самих сторон и торговые (коммерческие) обычаи и обыкновения.

Обязательным условиемпринятия дела к производству в третейском суде является соглашение об этом самих спорящих сторон. Для обращения в третейский суд не требуется предварительного порядка урегулирования спора самими сторонами (претензионный порядок).

В процессе третейского разбирательства сторонам спора обеспечивается полное процессуальное равенство. При этом каждая из сторон обязана доказать те обстоятельства, на которые она ссылается. Третейский суд вправе, но не обязан требовать предоставления дополнительных доказательств и, основываясь на принципе состязательности, может принять решение по представленным сторонами материалам.

Третейское разбирательство проводится устно, однако по желанию сторон с ведением протокола, и основывается на представленных сторонами письменных доказательствах (хотя и не исключает выслушивания при необходимости экспертов или свидетелей). Посторонние лица допускаются на разбирательство лишь по обоюдному согласию сторон, поэтому обычно разбирательство носит закрытый характер и гарантирует сторонам соблюдение коммерческой и иной тайны. Отношения конфиденциальности между сторонами и судьей (судьями) создают условия для более полного и всестороннего разрешения возникшего между сторонами конфликта. Кроме того, гласность процедуры разбирательства в государственных судах далеко не всегда способствует сохранению коммерческой тайны или иной информации, разглашение которой также может причинить ущерб деятельности юридических лиц и предпринимателей.

Какими же особенностями будет отличаться третейский суд МАКД? В соответствии с подготовленным регламентом третейского суда МАКД разрешение в нем конкретного спора не должно занимать более двух месяцев с момента образования состава суда (или назначения единоличного судьи). При этом члены ассоциации освобождаются от уплаты третейского сбора при обращении в суд, для остальных участников судебного разбирательства размер третейского сбора устанавливается значительно ниже размера госпошлины в арбитражном суде.

Принятие решения третейским судом в пределах его компетенции исключает возможность обращения с иском о том же предмете и по тем же основаниям в государственный арбитражный суд. Оно имеет обязательный характер и подлежит добровольному исполнению в срок, установленный в самом решении, либо немедленно. В случае неисполнения ответчиком решения третейского суда добровольно истец получает исполнительный документ, подлежащий принудительному исполнению службой судебных приставов-исполнителей, при этом исполнительный лист на принудительное исполнение решения выдается арбитражным судом, на территории которого находится третейский суд независимо от установленной для него подсудности споров. Таким образом, решение третейского суда по своей юридической силе не уступает обычному судебному решению.

При разрешении спора применяется российское законодательство (если только стороны договора не согласовали в нем применение права другого государства либо к нему отсылает международное соглашение или коллизионная норма), но прежде всего при разрешении спора принимается во внимание содержание соответствующего договора.

Все это призвано обеспечивать реализацию принципов быстроты и экономичности в разрешении споров третейским судом.

Общее собрание членов Международной ассоциации участников космической деятельности 24 марта 2006 года рассмотрело вопрос о необходимости и целесообразности создания третейского суда и приняло решение об учреждении постоянно действующего третейского суда при ассоциации с целью защиты прав и интересов членов ассоциации при разрешении экономических споров, возникающих при осуществлении ими космической деятельности, и в соответствии с федеральным законом от 24.07.2002 г. № 102-ФЗ «О третейских судах в Российской Федерации».